Iron County, Utah

Iron County: 180-day pause on data center, data center power plant and solar applications (Ordinance 2026-13)

Local construction moratorium · Iron County only (local rule)

Adopted; effective status unverified This instrument was adopted; whether it has taken effect has not been verified.

Scope

Iron County Ordinance 2026-13 adopts a temporary land use regulation under which, for 180 days following its effective date, Iron County shall not accept for filing or process any land use, business license, building permit, conditional use, subdivision, zone change, site plan, development agreement or other land use or development approval application associated with uses regulated under Chapters 17.33 and 17.37 of the Iron County Code; the ordinance's title names data centers, data center power plants and solar power plants. Applications determined complete before the effective date may continue to be processed, and applications submitted but not determined complete are suspended for the duration.

Geographic scope
Iron County, Utah
Jurisdiction
Local
Authority type
Local government
Issuing authority
Iron County Board of County Commissioners

Dates

Adopted
8 June 2026
Effective
Effective status not verified
Scheduled expiration
See completion condition
Ended
Not recorded as ended
Completion condition
Section 6 states that the ordinance becomes effective upon passage and publication and remains in effect for 180 days unless repealed, extended or replaced; the publication date is not stated, so no end date is stored.
Source document
8 June 2026
Last checked
30 October 2026

Summary

The Iron County Board of County Commissioners passed Ordinance 2026-13 on 8 June 2026, a temporary land use regulation under which the county will not accept or process applications for data centers, data center power plants and solar power plants for 180 days. Applications already determined complete may continue; incomplete pending applications are suspended. The ordinance takes effect on passage and publication, and the publication date is not stated in the copy reviewed. It is a temporary regulation while the county prepares new rules, not a permanent prohibition, and it does not order existing facilities to shut down.

What this does not establish

  • The posted copy shows blank signature and voting lines; the adoption day is the printed passed-and-adopted date of 8 June 2026.
  • Chapters 17.33 and 17.37 of the Iron County Code, which define the covered uses, were not reviewed.
  • The ordinance does not state whether it applies only in unincorporated Iron County.
  • Counted from the 8 June 2026 adoption day, 180 days would end on 5 December 2026, but the ordinance counts from its effective date, which depends on publication; that computed day is not stored as an end date.

Unresolved questions

  • When Ordinance 2026-13 was published and took effect, which sets the end of its 180-day period.

Relationships

Supersession means a later instrument replaces the earlier legal effect. Repeal links identify the repeal instrument and the measure it ends. A later implementation or related letter is not treated as a replacement unless the record says so.

  • No related action is recorded.

Sources

Primary source: Iron County Board of County Commissioners page on ironcountyut.gov

    Back to the policy tracker · Utah policy module