Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001619

Google 5079–5087 Disk Drive Compute Campus (North San José)

source-reported proposed

Google LLC

5079 Disk Drive · San Jose · Santa Clara County · California · 95134

Reported planned 250 MWSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google 5079–5087 Disk Drive Compute Campus (North San José).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google LLC
Address and locality
5079 Disk Drive · San Jose · Santa Clara County · California · 95134
Official metro area
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001619

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Pacific Gas and Electric CompanyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
EvaporativeProvider label.
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
March 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. 230 kV transmission-level retail service via a new switching station on the Newark–NRS 230 kV line; CPUC draft resolution would require a refundable advance of $600,000/MW (up to $150M).

Community. North San José advocates argue the R&D label avoids data center scrutiny (blueprints show a 250 MW substation, generator yards and cooling towers); Google says the site is internal chip-engineering compute lab space and 'not going to be a data center'.

What the source record says

Classification caveat: Google and the City of San José describe an internal R&D/compute-lab facility, while PG&E's CPUC filing describes it as a 250 MW data center load. Recorded as data_center on the strength of the regulatory filing; Google submitted its interconnection application 2025-03-03.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-03-06 · source-reported proposed

    Site Development Permit H26-005 submitted 2026-03-06: demolish a ~162,250 sq ft warehouse and build up to three 'research and development' facilities (~482,790 sq ft) with a switching station, substation and 250 MW of on-site electrical capacity; the city classifies it as a large energy-use project, not a data center.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-09-17 · source-reported proposed

    PG&E's Advice Letter 7785-E (filed 2025-12-18) asks the CPUC to approve energizing 'a new 250 MW data center load' for Google at 5079 Disk Drive, with construction from January 2027 and in-service December 2028; the draft resolution was held again on 2026-09-17 and rescheduled for 2026-10-08.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1+reviewed-2610e0556b3d, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-disk-drive-alviso-san-jose-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labelled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001619

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 5079 Disk Drive, San Jose, CA 95134 · Santa Clara (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google LLC

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: March 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-03-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-09-17 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Pacific Gas and Electric Company

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Evaporative

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →