Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001943

PowerTransitions Vermont Yankee Site Redevelopment (data center option)

source-reported proposed

PowerTransitions

Vernon · Windham County · Vermont

Capacity not statedSource updated 11 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: rumored
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for PowerTransitions Vermont Yankee Site Redevelopment (data center option).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
PowerTransitions
Address and locality
Vernon · Windham County · Vermont
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
11 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
rumored (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001943

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. The Vernon Selectboard chair says a data center is the least popular option among townspeople, citing electricity use, water use and noise. The planning chair warned of a 'serious drain' on local water and power.

What the source record says

Very preliminary. PowerTransitions, a Texas-based company backed by Partners Group, has floated battery storage, a small modular reactor and a data center for the decommissioned Vermont Yankee site. The company says it 'had not made any decision about which option to pursue'. The Selectboard chair thinks battery storage is most likely. Any project would trigger Act 250 review. No data center size, MW or investment has been disclosed. The 140 acres is the whole site, not a data center footprint. Coordinates are the former plant's.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    PowerTransitions leased redevelopment rights to the roughly 140-acre former Vermont Yankee site from NorthStar. A data center is one of the options it has floated, along with battery storage and an SMR. No decision has been made.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1+reviewed-2610e0556b3d, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID powertransitions-vermont-yankee-vernon-vt. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labelled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001943

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Vernon, VT · Windham (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: PowerTransitions

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-11

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →