This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Energy Storage Solutions Tarboro Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Energy Storage Solutions, LLC
- Address and locality
- Tarboro · Edgecombe County · North Carolina
- Official metro area
- Rocky Mount, NC
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 100 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 15 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001842
What the source record says
This is the earlier Tarboro site, separate from ESS's later Kingsboro campus. Data Center Knowledge (Nov 2025) describes it as a 100 MW project voted down after community opposition, with the developer appealing; its '$6.4 million' cost figure is likely a typo and is omitted. In July 2026 the developer said it would not build in Tarboro. Coordinates are an approximate town-level placement.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-07-14 · source-reported cancelled
ESS President Dan Shaffer said the company believes it has reached a settlement with the town of Tarboro and expects to withdraw its lawsuit, but 'ESS will not be building a data center there.'
Sources and attribution
- Company that eyed land for data center withdraws its offer · Rocky Mount Telegram
- Developer Forges Ahead With $38B in NC Data Center Builds · Data Center Knowledge
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1+reviewed-2610e0556b3d, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID energy-storage-solutions-tarboro-edgecombe-county-nc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labelled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001842
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Tarboro, NC · Edgecombe (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Energy Storage Solutions, LLC
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-07-14 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 100 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-15
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.